Where’s spring?

dream_0145I paddled most of the morning when I spotted this small sandy beach. It was the perfect place to beech the kayak and eat the lunch I’d packed. I’d just started to take a bite of the sandwich when some seagulls started a raucous chatter, looking around I could not spot them. That’s when I realized that I wasn’t on a Caribbean island, and the noise wasn’t made by gulls. The cool breeze was really cold air, and the noise was my alarm clock. The sandy beach was in a dream.

6-waitingforspring_1776I shut off the alarm and pulled down the electric blanket and took a look outside. My dream seemed real enough, there was my kayak. But snow covered it. We both were waiting for spring. Well, there’s only one thing to do now, crawl back under the warm blanket and go back to sleep till the snow plow comes. Some day we’ll have warm breezes, a sunny sky and sandy beaches. For now the thing to do was to start a crock-pot of oatmeal started. That takes a little while to cook, so diving back under the warm blanket was not only inviting, but really satisfying. I’d get up to contemplate the day later. Kayaking in this time of year is only a dream.

for Sunday Photo Fiction – January 17th 2016

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in snow, Sunday Photo Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s spring?

  1. Steve Lakey says:

    The dream seems better than reality. Maybe hibernation is the way forward!

  2. Maybe the thaw will give kayaking opportunities between the houses 😉

Leave a comment