A week on the water

No not a whole week on the water, but I did spend quite a few days paddling my new kayak, a Necky Manitou. Three days on freshwater lakes nearby and one on salt water.

It all started on Rocky Gorge Reservoir, one of two lakes on the Patuxent River near Laurel, Md. The put-in was at Scott’s Cove. From there I paddled ‘upstream’ passing under Us-29 and finally found a convenient place to turn around andhead back. This was mid-week and only a small handfull of fisherman were out, but the local emergency services were holding a training exercise and I was passed twice by them in a Zodiac. When I returned to my take-out half of the parking places were taken by all sorts of apparatus from pickup size trucks to fire trucks.

A couple days later I explored Tridelphia Lake, a bit further upstream from Rocky Gorge. This is the first time in recent years that this lake has been full. As a geocacher I am always looking not only for caches,but lor some new locations caches. This trip netted me what should be a great location for not only a “hydro cache”, but a “multi”.

For my non-caching readers let me explain. Geocachers plant containers that contain a log book somewhere then list them on Geocaching.com so that other cachers can find them using a GPS to navigate to the location of the hide. A “multi” is a special type cache where the cache finder finds the first stage, which then contains directions to the next stage.

The multi-stage I’m planning will have both stages accessible only by boat, preferably by kayak.

My third voyage was from Truxton Park in Annapolis, down Spa Creek and out onto the mouth of the Severn River where it meets the Chesapeake bay. Though the water was not actually rough it was “troubled” and not the easiest to paddel in. This was a fairly strenuous paddle, I would have gone on to explore Back Creek, but by this ttime the day was getting late.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, GPS, Sea kayaking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

