Paddling Notes 1, Water

Ok, last weekend I wrote about my first few kayak adventures. I’ll be following up with some things I learned that should be helpful to new paddlers, from a new paddler. The old timers may not even think of some of these things, as they might be second nature to them.

This note will be about water, the drinking kind, not the ‘put the boat in’ kind.

It may not look it, but paddling is a strenuous exercise, coupled with the open air and possibly lots of wind. As a result I find that I need to bring along about twice as much drinking water as I would normally use during a similar time on my bicycle. Twice as much? Most probably because there are no convenient stops to buy cold Gatorade or whatever your favorite refreshment. And I find that I do use most if not both bottles of water in a couple hours. Next time I’ll be bringing bigger bottles.

So far I’ve found that it’s hard to keep the water bottles out of the sun, the kayak seat has a bottle holder in the front, so without a spray skirt that is in the sun. Well, the Manitou is a flatwater kayak so I don’t have a spray skirt for it. I have yet to devise a better place to store the second bottle, any suggestions? I have a small space behind the seat back, but I’ve been keeping a small bag with my lunch there, and that spot is almost unreachable while I’m seated in the boat.

Next time: navigation

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Sea kayaking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paddling Notes 1, Water

  1. runwolf says:

    Good question, but I think you’ve got differences among kayaks as well as paddle times. I have an Old Town Vapor, with a freaking huge cockpit and no closed in spaces at all. I tend to freeze a bottle to throw in the storage space in the back and keep another tied inside the cockpit. Plus I tend to kayak at dawn, so I have less issues with direct sunlight.

    For long paddles, I tend to strap a cooler in the storage area anyway, so that kinda takes care of things!

    Welcome to paddling! I’m gonna follow your blog!

    • ka8b says:

      I have a Necky Manitou-14. The cockpit opening takes a Seals 2.2 cover, not large by any means but lots larger than some. That’s about the same size as the Current Design Kestrel 120. I tried out a CD Kestrel OC (Open Cockpit), that too had a huge cockpit.

      The fore and aft hatches are not the easiest thing to open, but I think I’ll take your idea and freeze some extra bottles to carry fore and aft. I’ve also toyed with finding a place to store things under the deck between my legs, extra water and GPS, where they can be reached but kept out of the water that does always seem to drip into the bilge.

      I am new at this. As for times, you’re right. All 4 of my trips so far have started after 11am and have lasted into late afternoon in Maryland. Someday I will have to plan a trip the day before and be loaded and be on the road before the rush-hour starts.

  2. seattlehiker says:

    If you can deal with warm water, I find the deck bungee webbing holds a bottle or two quite nicely. I’m bad, and don’t actually wear my life jacket until I start getting into a situation where I might actually need it. So it stays in front of the cockpit, and can provide some sun cover if need be.

    Have you tried using strong tape to attach a bottle of cold water to the inside of the hull? I would think the top of the boat, above your legs, would be an ideal place to store a bottle or two.

    Not that keeping drinking water cold is a challenge this time of year, but for next summer, I hope you find the right answer for your boat.

    By the way, I have a water purifier for hiking, and would never dream of using it on any of the water I’ve ever paddled on. That’s entirely out of the question! I have stooped to asking other boats I’ve passed, though, if they could refill a water bottle for me. It’s amazing how friendly these people are, and how no one has ever flinched at this request.

Leave a Reply

