Across the lake for lunch

Last weekend I realized I hadn’t been been paddling in over a week, almost two weeks. The boat was looking a bit lonely and I needed some upper body exercise. So mid Saturday morning I built a quick lunch then flexed my muscles and loaded the kayak onto the car. Luckily the temperature was only in the mid 80F and not really hot. Then I headed back to Tridelphia Lake, between Howard and Montgomery Counties in Maryland. I had a dinner commitment in the early evening so I didn’t have lots of time.

I decided to just paddle across the lake for lunch, as I mentioned to a couple other paddlers, I know there is good lunch over there.” There is if you make it yourself.This ended up being a rather short outing, only about 1.5 miles between ramps. But the first half mile is up a branch of the lake. Then across the main “lake” and another half a mile or so up a branch on the other side. Even though I had never been on this end of the lake I had no problem on the first half, but the return would have been lots longer if I hadn’t had my GPS. The lake is surrounded by dense forests with trees down to the water, and no navigation markers at all. When I headed back I found that “Home” side of the lake had two branches and I was headed for the wrong one. I wasn’t more than 1/4 across the lake when I took a look at the GPS and saw I was way right of the cookie crumb course I took outbound, and the course marker confirmed the error in my heading.

My next trip may be back to the Chesapeake Bay, somewhere around Annapolis. The weather in late July and into August is beginning to have Thunderstorms forecast every afternoon, so I will have to get out early and keep a weather eye out.

Keep on Paddling.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

