New Geocachers, Maybe someday

One day last week I found myself in a county park in Virginia searching for some Geocaches. I was between the second and third cache of the day when a group of 6 passed me in the other direction. They were composed of two leaders and 4 young boys all with compasses. I asked and found that they were out Orienteering an we went on our way.

A half an hour later we met again at the intersection of a couple pathways. I was feeling like I needed a bit of a rest and the boys were lagging a bit behind the leaders. So I asked if they had heard of Geocaching and when they answered “no, I think I’ve heard of it.”  I told them that’s what I was doing and that there was a cache about 800′ from where were they asked the boys if they’d like to see what it was all about.

So I began with a quick explanation of what we were about to set out to do. When we arrived at the cache site, known to cachers as GZ, or Ground Zero. I found the easy way past the briars into the hidden clearing where my GPS said the cache would be. Before I had time enough to look around myself, one of the boys pointed the a pile of stones and asked “Is that it?” I waited for all the boys to take a look and by golly the cache container was just barely visible under the rocks. I opened ther container, showed them the log, and signed it. Then we all took part in rehiding the cache.

Once back out of the woods they sat on the path for about 15 minutes asking every possible question about caching; how many are there (about 800,000 all across the world), how much does a GPS cost (less than $100 to over $500),  where are they (almost any place one can think of), how about puzzles (yes), the questions went on and on (and on) till the leaders finally said they still had another mile to hike before the day was over.

It felt good to see today’s youth out and about and become interested in wholesome activities. Who knows maybe one of them might catch the caching bug someday. One of the leaders sounded quite interested when he heads off to college this fall.

As some of us say “Keep On Caching!”

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, GPS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

