Need Air?

On two rather long bike rides recently, rides where I was not within walking distance of home (or the car) I was unlucky enough to have a flat tire. Not a sudden blow-out but one of those pesky slow leaks that lets you down gently, but definitely without air in the tire.

The first time it happened I was in western Maryland, read about it here. Last weekend I was riding from Bethesda, Md to Georgetown, D.C., a distance of about 8 miles. As I arrived at the Georgetown end of The Capitol Crescent Trail I began to feel the tell tail sloppy steering that told me the front tire was very soft.

The day was hot and I didn’t feel like working on a tire in hot sun. What to do? One of the items I carry in my tool bag, besides extra tubes, is a CO2 inflation system made by Innovations. These can be obtained at many bicycle shops and use a small 12g, 16g, or 25g cartridge.

On both rides I was able to inflate the tire enough to get back to the car. On the ride last week I only needed to re-inflate the tire twice on the return trip. When I did get to fix the tire I found a very small sliver of glass, a small patch was all that was needed.

It’s all ways good to bring more tools and supplies than you think you’ll need when you are further from home-base than you feel like walking. I recently came across a rider that had a flat with no tools. He was 18 miles from home. As one TV Commercial used to say “Don’t leave home without it!”

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Bicycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

