Autumn is coming, to be followed by Winter

After many good paddling days this year it’s almost time to winterize my kayak, whatever that means. So this week on a warm day – highs nearing 70F – I headed to one of my favourite put-in places and headed out for a few hours paddling in and around Annapolis, MD. I started at Truxton Park, in the Eastport section of Annapolis. There is plenty of parking, a retainer wall near the parking lot so removing and replacing the boat from the back of the car is easy, the boat starts off about 3′ high. also a small, clean beach on Spa Creek.

The paddle started by heading upstream to the headwater where I did run aground and had to back out. Heading downstream I crossed under the Spa Creek drawbridge and along the Annapolis Yacht Club where many ‘ships’ from around the world were berthed, some probably on a stopover on the way to warmer climates in the south.

A left turn then took a left turn into the Annapolis City Dock, once a busy port for Oyster and Watermellon boats from Maryland’s Eastern Shore. But now a days it has more Water Taxi and tour boats than anything else, and of course tourists, mainly on summer weekend days.

From there I paddled around the Tall Ship Sultana. The end of October I plan on heading to Chestertown, Md with my camera to get some good photos of all the Tall Ships that will be there.

On the first weekend of November each year Sultana Projects hosts a three-day festival known as Downrigging Weekend to celebrate the close of Sultana’s sailing season.

From there I recrossed Spa Creek and headed out the Severn River for a lunch break, then on around to Back Creek. All this was in a gentle breeze and calm seas.

The return was different. The wind had been forecast to be out of the west at about 15kt. Since I was on the western shore of the bay I wasn’t worried. As I rounded the last point on the Severn and headed up Spa Creek the wind picked up and I found myself headed into a very strong breeze. The last couple of miles was work! At times I hardly made any headway, at other times I searched out boats and shores that I could protect me from the wind.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Sea kayaking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

