A summer day in mid November.

This isn’t the posting I had planned, about knots and ropes, that will be put off till the next time.

Whoda thunk it? here it is well into November and it is shirt sleeve kayaking weather. The high daytime temperatures had been falling into the 50s with nights approaching freezing, and I was thinking of finding a better storage place for my Manitou.

But Monday morning dawned bright and sunny with the forecast high of 72. What better day to celebrate a good day than getting the boat our for “one more last paddle”. Add one more incentive, checking Geocaching.Com showed that a new cache had been approved, and that it was a hydrocache. I loaded the boat and headed to Prince Frederick, Md. Arriving just after lunch time I set out for what would have been a 0.89 mile paddle to the cache.

Unfortunately after paddling Ground Zero, as we cachers call the cache location, I looked for about half an hour with no luck. The cache difficulty rating was 4.5 our of 5, so I did expect a difficult time of it.

As I was about to give up, another paddler showed up, we chatted for a couple minutes on shore then I gave up the cache search, and headed out with the other kayaker, Bryan, for what turned out to be a 6 mile trip. A power plant occupied the far shore and and we ignored it and enjoyed the wilderness beauty on our shore. The leaves here have mainly turned brown. our course took us close to a gaggle of geese and a bunch of ducks that took to the wing as we came near.

By mid afternoon the sky did start to grow overcast and the temperature dropped, but the long sleeved shirt I wore was enough.

If you are planning on paddling in tidal waters, Salt Water Tides has tide information for many tidal saltwater locations in the USA. I’ve used it a few times to plan my paddling schedule. It’s nice to know that the tide isn’t going to rise and float your boat off the beach while you are having lunch. The results returned for an inquiry include times of Sunrise/Sunset, and Moonride and Moonset.

And before I close this, The next posting is planned to be the first of a couple postings about knots and ropes. If you have any requests, leave them as comments.

Happy paddling.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, GPS, Sea kayaking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A summer day in mid November.

  1. seattlehiker says:

    What GPS unit do you have? Obviously, you must have one to be geocaching. The reason I ask, is that my Garmin Oregon ( 550t, but also the 400t I just sold ) has tide tables built into the map. You can look up the tide times every few miles of salt water. And I mention this because you said you look this information up on your way out – it’s good to have a backup should you forget. πŸ˜€

    How many geocaches are hydrocaches? You’ve caught my attention – I didn’t know such a thing existed.

    You asked for reader requests. An introduction to geocaching would be nice! I’ve never done this before, but keep hearing more about it, and I’m intrigued.

    How do you like the Manitou? I use a Looksha, a cousin Necky kayak. Is yours a single or a double?

    Finally, consider a dry suit! You don’t need to put your boat away for the winter. And on that note, I hope you have a jacket and a sweater in a dry bag when you go out in a tee-shirt? I like to do the same, to soak up the sun, but once it sets ( early! ) the air becomes dead cold.

    (I think I’m going to enjoy your blog.)

    • ka8b says:

      I use two different GPSs in the kayak. both Garmin, one is a 60CSx, the other is an eTrex. But not at the same time. Right now I have OpenStreet Maps loaded on the eTrex, not the Garmin Topo so it is not really helpful when paddling.

      How many caches are hydrocaches? Good question. It’s not a search term that Geocaching.com uses, just a term we use. Look on Geocaching.com for your area and see what caches look like they are on islands, or on shore, then ‘drill down’ and see what the description says and what the more detailed map says. So far I have found 3, two of them I was First To Finds (FTF). And there are a couple more around the Baltimore area I have not even looked for yet.

    • ka8b says:

      My Necky Manitou-14 is a single, and I love it. I had been dreaming of buying one for years, then I met someone that had a kayak, she was the little nudge that made me finally go out and buy one. I rented a Nanitou for a morning tour with a local club, fell in love with it, and bought mine as a result of that experience.,

      Dry bag – not yet, but that has been put on the top of my list.

  2. seattlehiker says:

    I personally think 14 feet is the perfect length for a sea kayak. A 17 is faster going in a straight line, but so much harder to turn when the need comes up. You can plan to veer in one direction or the other, given some time, but when you need to spin 180 degrees, longer boats add so much more drag.

    On the other hand, I’ve tried a 12, and it’s just too short. You don’t get quite the same stability in the waves, and give up just a little too much in the way of speed. A 14 is in that sweet spot, so that when the weather goes rough, you can get out quick, but you can still maneuver around in the boat.

Leave a Reply

