Lets all ski over to Pedro’s

Over the winter I shelve my kayaking interest, instead I get out to enjoy the colder weather. Tomorrow I will be headed to Western Maryland, not far from Wisp Ski Resort, and Deep Creek Lake, for a weekend of Cross Country Skiing and Snow Shoeing. A couple sessions ago on these skis I waxed them with Red wax. I’m not sure if it was Klister on not, but the darned stuff hung onto the bottoms like old bubble gum and needed to be cleaned off.

When I had new bindings installed at High Mountain Sports in McHenry, Md. I asked what I should use to remove the old wax the answer was a shrug and “lots of scraping and elbow grease.” None of the everyday solvents were recommended, I had tried some of them in the past and nothing worked.

But today when I was about to start scraping I noticed a bottle of Pedor’s Citrus Degreaser standing on a shelf. Now this stuff is normally used to clean bicycles, but I decided to give it try. Wow! A couple squirts of it on one of the largest wads of wax, and a very short wait, and the wax just came off with a very light scrape – I used one of those plastic ‘putty knife’ things from the local Ace Hardware. In about 3 minutes I had one clean ski, and and empty bottle (there wasn’t very much in it to begin with). So off to the LBS (Local Bicycle Shop) for another.

To keep the FTC happy, I have no connection to Pedro’s, High Mountain Sports, or Ace Hardware but as a happy customer.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Ski, xc-ski and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

