Recovering you GPS, or I Don’t want to buy a new one now.

Garmin? DeLorme? iPhone? What’s next in my life? Did you ever feel like you Need a new GPS, but for whatever reason you didn’t want to buy a new one now? The following will describe what happened to my Garmin 60CSx but could apply to any device; Cyclometer, MP3 Player, C-Phone.

By the word Need I mean, the old one just died! Well I ran into this situation yesterday, and I’ve had a nagging feeling for the past few months that the time was coming when the tusty Garmin 60CSx was about to die.

The long story. Sometime in July or August I was out kayaking with my 60CSx sitting on the floor of the kayak, It’s supposed to be waterproof “GPS case can withstand accidental immersion in one meter of water for up to 30 minutes.”. But a few drops of water on the front of the unit should not matter – Bull!. By the time I returned to the Put-in/Take-out the 60CSx decided to quit. The buttons on the front started to fail one at a time. By that evening nothing had improved, so I wrapped it in an electric blanket, set on Hi. I’d removed the batteries and left the battery cover off, opened both the USB, and NMEA ports. After a couple days in the heat it came back to life. Well, so I had thought.

Now I use this GPS not only when Kayaking, but also on my bicycle, and when Geocaching, XC-Skiing and SnowShoeing. Anytime I’m out in “The Wild“.

Yesterday, not it’s mid February, the two bottom buttons, ‘enter’ and ‘back’ had quit, again and by the them I’d returned from a caching trip (two DNFs and one FTF) the center rocker had started to fail again. Oh oh, time to get a new one. But “The Market” was frowning on any new expenditures. So what do!

Over the past few months I had heard of burying the GPS, or any other electronic device, in a sack of rice. Rice should help dry out anything by absorbing water. Another idea I had heard of was Silica Gel. So I had purchased a container of blue Silica Gel Cat Litter to have on-hand just in case. Preying that it would work I again opened everything on the 60CSx, and placed it with the Silica Gel. This morning I put in new batteries and turned it on. Now this is a bit unscientific, but I felt that it booted faster than normal. But the best news. All keys seem to work.

I’ll leave it in the Silica Gel for a few more days, till I need it, just to fully dry it out. Hopefully I won’t need to buy a new GPS till I have a chance to decide on which one I really want.

I also have a couple Cateye Astril cyclometers, sadly they were discontinued in 2009. So they will go into my ‘drying’ system. I don’t want to loose these! Cateye seems to have the idea that two decimals of adjustment are enough. I prefer three.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Cross Country Ski, Geocaching, GPS, Sea kayaking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recovering you GPS, or I Don’t want to buy a new one now.

  1. Great article, I’ll tell my neighbor who is looking for this sort of information.

  2. It’s a blessing that I found your article on the net, I’ll try it and see how it goes, saved me time and headache trying to figure it out by myself. thanks

Leave a Reply

