What do you do for snacks while Kayaking, Caching, or Biking

When I’m n a hurry, or just haven’t planned very far ahead, I stop at a convenience store along the route, or at times I’ve just gone hungry. The first can be expensive, the second might mean that I have to bicycle 10 miles or more with no energy. That isn’t fun!

Last week I ran across a couple recipes that looked good, and being the experimental geek that I am I adapted them more to my liking. Do the same, substitute whatever looks good, or is handy in the pantry. If you keep notes you will be able to duplicate your best and avoid taste combinations you don’t like.

After baking and they were cool, I cut them into ‘bar’ size pieces, packed two to a freezer bag and stored them in the freezer. I carry one or two of them with me when I’m on a ride. By the time I’m ready to eat one, it’s thawed and welcome.

Here is the first.

Apricot, Walnut, and Cranberry Bars.

1-1/4   cup   Butter
3/4      cup    Brown Sugar, Packed
1/4      cup    Egg substitute
1         cup    All-purpose Flour
1/2      tsp     Baking Powder
1         cup    Oatmeal
1         cup    Dried Apricots, coarsely chopped
1         cup    Dried Cranberries
1         cup    Chopped Walnuts

Preheat oven to 350F
Melt the butter in a small pan, just till it’s liquid, In a large bowl mix the melted butter, brown sugar and egg. Beat well. The using a wooden spoon add the rest of the ingredients and again mix well.

Prepare a 9×13 baking pan with cooking spray. Pour the mixture into the baking pan. Cook for 30-35 minutes or until brown. Remove from the oven, and put the baking pan on a wire rack to cool. Let cool before removing from the pan and cutting into bars.

Notes:
I much prefer Black Walnuts to the lighter English Walnut. Black Walnuts have a lot more flavor, but that isn’t to everyone’s taste.

Substitute other dried fruit or nuts as desired. Add more or less as your tastes dictate.

Enjoy!

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, cooking, Cross Country Ski, Geocaching, recipe, sea kayak, Sea kayaking, xc-ski and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

