The penultimate CAM cache

When the weather this morning started cool, but sunny I just knew I needed to get out and find the one missing CAM cache for this year. For those of you that don’t know what CAM caches are all about I’ll explain. Each year the Maryland Geocaching Society (MGS) holds a gala Picnic, known as the CAM picnic. Now CAM stands for Cache Across Maryland, and to qualify to attend the picnic 10 caches are set out at various locations across the state; from the far western county of Garrett, to the eastern shore and in southern Maryland. Clews to the location of the picnic are in each of these 10 caches. I look at it a bit differently, CAM is an 11 cache “multi puzzle cache”, the 11 being the picnic.

martinak cacheI’ve now completed the first 10, and am waiting for the “magic decoder” to tell me where the final picnic will be located. The cache I went after today was at Martinak State Park, near Denton, Md. along the Choptank river. From there the Choptank meanders to the south before turning a bit more westerly to pass Cambridge and out to the Chesapeake Bay.

osprey on daymarker.As I neared the cache site, a short walk along a channel leading to the park’s boat ramp I noticed a “day marker” with an Osprey perched on top. This majestic bird and I watched each other for about half an hour, while I snapped many shots of it. At times it looked a bit suspicious of me, but I didn’t want to scare it off so I was content to let it just sit there. however I did hope it would have gone after food, but not while I was there.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, GPS, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

