An interrupted lunch

Jack in the pulpit Two days ago I was out on a caching run, attempting to find 4 caches in a series, but not a lot of luck. This was a 4 stage mystery cache, I found two of them, but couldn’t find the third, and thus couldn’t find the 4th. This was one of gvt1985’s Alphabet series. The day was dry and sunny so I had my camera with me so I had plenty opportunities to get some quick shots. Nearing the first cache I ran into an area that was filled with Jack-In-The-Pulpit plants. I’d onlyu seen one other of these little wild-flowers once before, so I was really thrilled to find so many in one place.

I found the first cache without too much effort, then after another quarter mile I found the second cache, again without too much effort, but I approached from the wrong side, and had to backtrack and circumnavigate half way around a small forest. Then heading for the third, which I did not find (yet) I didn’t have my camera ready and missed what probably could have been a great picture. This is where I interrupted a lunch. I was approaching a small lake, more like a vernal pond (seasonal) when I saw three ducks running away off to the left and a redish-brown streak running off to the right. My best guess is that I interrupted a Red Fox trying to get to the ducks, or more probably their eggs. Nature being what it is, the fox probably returned later.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

