Angles all around

Although I hadn’t planed ahead to go paddling yesterday it turned out to be a great day for being on the water in Annapolis. It started out after a group of friends had coffee and donuts in the morning, a weekly ritual for a small group of woodworkers I know, all of them retired.

I should have headed out a bit earlier but, after getting back home I took my time to check email, and make lunch. But when I located a likely launch site closer to the Chesapeake Bay than I normally do it seemed to be full of kids and parents. It was a sunny day so I thought nothing of it. That wasn’t until as I was sliding the boat into the waters of Back Creek I heard the sound of an F/A 18 Hornet very low overhead. Looking up I saw that it was one of the US Navy’s Flight Demonstration Squadron. Then I remembered, this is late May and graduation time at the Naval Academy.

I paddled out of Back creek about as fast as I could to horn Point, from there the entire Severn River was covered with boats of all descriptions, kayaks, dinghies, sailboats, powerboats, even some jet-skies, but nothing was moving. I wasn’t in position to see the Academy’s waterfront but I could see most of the Air Show. One disadvantage of being in a kayak, it doesn’t turn very fast, and in the sun I was wearing my Tilly Hat and the wide brim not only kept most of the sun off me, but also blocked my view of some of the overhead show.

But let me tell you, having an F-18 pass by only a couple hundred feet overhead is quite a sight, even in a kayak. And they are LOUD!

Once the show was over I continued south to just beyond Lake Ogleton before heading back, a total of about 5 SM.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in sea kayak, Sea kayaking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

