What to do on a 90F day

With a 5kt breeze forecast for most of the day the only sensible answer to “What should I do a day like today?” is “Get the Kayak in the water!” So that is just what I did. Just as I did a couple weeks ago I started out from Galesville, MD but this time I crossed the West River right off to Shady Side, then hugging the shore to my right I headed out to the Chesapeake Bay. Look back at the map to see the rest of the description.

Launching near the end of MD-255, then after about a mile or so I passed Deadwood Cove and continued on to just beyond the end of Garton Ave. At this point i was in the Chesapeake bay. Paddling was easy but I’d covered about 3NM and the day was hot, helping me make the decision to turn around.

The trip back was lots hotter, the wind was weakening and I was paddling with the wind most of the way, no cooling breezes. I stayed closer to shore passing many “Day Markers” and other structures in the water, all of them were topped with Osprey Nests. Close to the end of my trip I spotted a large structure with a large nest almost dead ahead. I stopped paddling, un-bagged my iPhone (see the zip-lock tip in the previous post) and just let the boat drift toward the pair of Osprey.

After the second Osprey left I stowed the camera and paddled away while the Osprey circled overhead, staying close to the nest. I thought I could hear a young bird still in the nest as I left, The bird I saw on a nest in the previous post looked almost as large as an adult, the one here must be a late hatchling.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Kayak, nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

