Yum, Hummus

Veering off the normal theme of this blog, whatever that is, I’m headed into the kitchen this time for a change of pace this week. One day last week I ran across a posting on 7 Minute Skillet that featured Hummus, and a few days later I realized I was having a small dinner party on the weekend. Naturally I recalled the gist of the podcast and headed Google to find Hummus recipes. I found a plethora of recipes for this dip, so I took a couple of them, and made up my recipe. Nothing in the following recipe is critical, just use it as a guide.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  • 1 can Garbanzo Beans
  • 1 Clove Garlic
  • 1/2 Cup Tahini
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Lime
  • Roasted Red Pepper
  • Water

Drain the liquid from the car of beans, reserving it for later. Then rinse the beans till all the ‘foam’ is gone. This gets rid of lots of extra starch. Put the beans in a food processor, and add about 1TSp Olive Oil, Garlic, and the Tahini. Then process until smooth. Being careful not to over blend the mixture. Most recipes call for the juice of a Lemon, but here I differ, add the juice from 1-Lime.

For taste I then added about 4 strips of Roasted Red Pepper, I didn’t want to overpower this with pepper. Some recipes call for a whole 1/2 Cup, be careful and taste often while you are building this recipe.

If the Hummus is too thick, add more Olive Oil, or some of the reserved liquid from the beans. Be very sparing when you do this, just a drop at a time, it’s very easy to overdo it and ruin the entire batch, but adding more Tahini might be one solution, but as I said, Be careful, you don’t want to turn this into a Tahini dip.

Modifications;
Garlic; I used about 1.5-tsp (about 1 Clove) of minced garlic, but recipes call for anywhere from 1 Clove to 4 Cloves of Garlic. Vary this to satisfy the tastes of your guests.

Roasted Red Pepper; I used what I think is about 1/4 Cup, again other recipes use up to 1/2 Cup. I just wanted a hint of the flavor. Again keep your guests in mind.

Lime; All but one of the recipes I looked at called for Lemon Juice, I elected to use the lime. One of my guests picked out the Lime flavor right off and commented that it added a “Brightness’ that other Hummus she’d tasted lacked.

Total time to make: I didn’t time it, but probably about 15 minutes. You can make this a day ahead but not much earlier than that. It should store refrigerated for 3 days, but if left open you (and the rest of the household) will probably dip into it and finish it off in one day, you’ll have to build another batch just before your party.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

