4:00 AM

It’s raining! It’s cold! The warm blanket wants me to come back! Have you ever felt that way? The photo club assignment was “Wet” and my idea of Ellicott City on a rainy day was way better than dripping laundry. So when I woke up about 3:45 and saw it was raining out I made the bold decision, the warm blanket would have to wait a while.

The lesson is that if you want to get a photo of rain in the dark, then you have to go out in the rain in the dark. Similarly if you want a photo of a blizzard, hurricane, or a 103F day, then you have to get out in cold, windy, or hot weather to do it. Opportunities like these do not wait for comfortable weather or convenient times.

And so it was one morning a week ago. I dressed in a hurry, including an orange jacket to be visible and my Tilly hat. Then I grabbed my tripod, camera, and most importantly my Shutter Hat to keep the camera dry. Now it wasn’t a hard rain, but the old town of Ellicott City has overhead phone and power lines, meaning that the chances of being dripped on are quite high no matter what the weather.

I arrived at a good parking spot and set up. Then I took some test shots trying to get an exposure and Color Balance I liked. Just as I was satisfied with the adjustments a couple crossed from one of the side streets, probably headed to a bakery to get the morning pastry ovens started.
in the rain

The jacket I grabbed, which should have been visible to passing traffic wasn’t waterproof, neither was my Tilly. The town was so asleep at that hour that no traffic passed me, but I still felt a bit easier about wearing bright orange. The best part was that the Shutter Hat was waterproof and did its job wonderfully. The camera stayed dry.

Remember that the only time to get a photo in the rain, is in the rain. Keep the camera dry, put on a rain coat and shoot. Last winter when we had over 3 feet of snow I became a ‘weather wimp’ and only thought of getting pictures. This year the snowshoes will be waiting at the door at the first sign of snow.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

