Leash-Pod

Sunday morning Donna, Greta, and I hiked around Morgan Run NEA for a couple of hours. Morgan Run is mostly unimproved wild area, mowed paths are the only improvement other than a parking lot. We’d hiked for an hour or so when I spotted some Milkweed Pods that had gone to seed and that would make a perfect photo target. Even though I had my short lens on the camera and was using a fast shutter speed, camera shake is always a problem. I did not have my tripod with me, and the bother of setting it up wild have spoiled the spontaneous feeling I had a the time. My walking stick does have a camera mount on it, but I didn’t think of using it. When Greta tugged at her leash I put my foot on it so she would not add to the difficulty of taking a photo. This is when I remembered that I did have a way to help stabilize the camera. It’s not a Tripod, nor is it a Monopod so I’m calling this adaptation a Leash-Pod for now.

The concept is easy. I wanted something that did not move at all, but not moving in one direction was lots better than having a camera that moved in any direction it felt like. I put my hand through a loop in the leash, and stood on the leash where it touched the ground. I adjusted the place I stood in it till I was pulling tight against it. The tension on the leash helped steady the camera, and the photos were about as sharp as could be expected with a breeze blowing.

milkweed

I heard of this technique years ago and had not tried it yet. It does work. Give it a try.

We did spot many fresh footprints of deer in the muddy paths, but didn’t see any other sign of them. This is hunting season on everyday but Sunday. The deer must have come out of hiding this morning for some exercise. Most of the time Greta was tugging on her leash and sniffing the wind and everywhere that dogs can find to pick out a scent, she wanted to give chase and if she’d been off her leash she would have been gone in an instant.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

