Out in the snow

I’ve just spent a few days out playing in the snow. Last Sunday Donna and I hiked on snowshoes for a couple of miles in Morgan Run Environmental Area, near Westminster Md. We didn’t see any wild life, but we did see dozens, if not hundreds of deer, rabbit, squirrel tracks.

Shoes and SkisThis weekend we headed west to Deep Creek Lake, Md for a weekend of Cross Country Skiing and Snowshoeing. Yesterday afternoon we snowshoed for about a mile on the lake just before dark. This morning we headed put on skis. The weather over night was not the best, the temperature went up and the morning thermometer greeted us reading 32F. So the snow was best described as sloppy and heavy.

I haven’t been downhill skiing In years so my skill at controlling skis is not as it once was. Sure a ‘snowplow’ is the perfect way to slow down, but on Cross Country Skis both skis are down in ‘tracks’ and I don’t find it easy Snowplow. And since I didn’t clean and apply a new coat of wax, my skis didn’t want to coöperate with me when climbing either.

The result was that I did a couple of Face Plants! And I’m glad I didn’t have me camera with me. If I was on me snowshoes I definitely would have had my camera with me. Next time out I think the ‘shoes are what I’m using! No longer will I consider using XC-Skis.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Cross Country Ski, snowshoe, xc-ski and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

