No Angels

A year ago I went to Annapolis to kayak on the Severn River for a couple hours, to my surprise it was the day that the Blue Angels perform for the US Naval Academy graduation. I was late to see the entire show, but then decided not make the same mistake again in the future. I had the boat loaded Tuesday evening and since the show was scheduled for noon I had time to have coffee with ‘the group’. Thank goodness I did. A couple of my buddies told me that the newspapers (dead tree publications) had the news that the Blue Angles would not be flying because of some safety concerns. I am (was) a pilot so I fully understand the ‘better safe than sorry’ philosophy.

So I headed past Annapolis and ended up in Galesville, Md, on the West River and a slow easy paddle, 6 miles up every cove on the Shady Side side of the river. Just about every Osprey nest was occupied, Great Blue and Green Herons on shore. The wind was very light, just “cat’s paws” disturbed that water. Even with SPF50 and my Tilly hat I still got a bit of a sunburn, this was a great day!

Nest year, I’ll be in Annapolis again.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Flying, Kayak, sea kayak, Sea kayaking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

