What Are You Having For Lunch?

We hall have memories of lunch time from our early life, what’s yours? It could be your favorite, or most dreaded lunch. What I really remember the most is still one of my favorite, with some changes, and that is the Grilled Cheese Sandwich and a bowl of Cream of Tomato Soup. I remember having that almost every weekend while listening to “The National Farm and Home Hour” where no matter what the weather was really like the announcer would end up saying “It’s a Beautiful day in Chicago!” and the show’s thundering theme The Washington Post March.. Whenever I hear that march I think of lunch no matter how recently I’ve eaten.

Now those Grilled Cheese sandwiches; were not what many grills serve today. Mom and Dad always made the best and here’s the way I still like them mad. It was not till I was in late high school that I found out that most people used two slices of bread and made them in a press. Oh Horrors!

Here’s how to make a good one. Take one slice of bread, yes only one, and don’t butter it, there’s no need. Then take some cheese, I like a good sharp Cheddar works, but any realgrilledcheese_7497 works, but even one of those processed cheese product having a taste that is identified as a type of American cheese will do in a pinch, you’ll probably recognize what I mean, it’s sold in yellow boxes in the Grocery’s dairy section.

Ok, now that you have cheese covered bread, add some seasoning to fit your taste buds. Salt, Pepper, and even a shake of Paprika. Put that on a cookie sheet and place it in the broiler. Watch it, the timing only comes with experience. when the cheese melts and maybe browns to your idea of perfection, it’s time to take it out and plate it, let it cool just enough so it doesn’t burn you mouth. the Maillard reaction of the browning cheese and the toasting corners of the bread give the heavenly aroma to the perfect Grilled Cheese Sandwich! Enjoy!

Now here are some variations. Using said American Cheese, it will bubble and brown or blacken if left too long. Another addition is to add a strip of already cooked Bacon to the top. And try substituting your favorite bread. Plain, soft white bread seems to get soggy on the bottom so my favorite is Schmidt’s Rye Bread a soft, seedless dark rye bread that as far as I can tell is only available in central Maryland. This bread is also fantastic for ham sandwiches, but more on that later. In a pinch. Over the years I’ve used many breads, but I still come back to Schmidt’s Delicatessen Rye.

Oh, as for the Tomato Soup, my mom would open a can of Campbell’s Tomato Soup and add milk instead of water. I rarely touch it any more, it’s still good, but doesn’t thrill me like the Grilled Cheese.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in cooking, grilled cheese, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Are You Having For Lunch?

  1. Mike says:

    I forgot to mention, a Longhorn Colby is also excelent with a milder flavor than a Sharp Chedar.
    I have also used Swiss too, but it may take some fitting to get the holes filled in. One piece of advise, don’t skimp and slice yopur cheese too thin.

Leave a Reply

