My First Day of CAM2013

A few days ago I wrote about CAM. Well, geocachers from all over the Mid-Atlantic states have been out caching. The logs show that some cachers were on the road within minutes of when the information was published, 6AM Saturday.

camWell, we have about 6 weeks to find all 10 caches so I don’t see a real need to rush off that early. Actually I registered up to take an SK101 class – Introduction to Sea Kayaking class. The weather was cold, and raining off and on all over the caching area, so I guess I’d made the better choice. I waited till Monday to find my first CAM cache. Monday’s forecast wasn’t much better, but the morning didn’t look too bad. The temperature was in the mid-40s and forecast to not change much through the day. By mid-afternoon, when I was back home, the rain stared. The closest cache to home was near Annapolis, Md. I’m not going to give away any spoilers so I will definitely be quite vague.

Two things to think about when you are out searching for caches, or for that matter most anything else. The shortest route is a straight line, and sometimes it’s best to stay on a known path till you are closest to your destination, then start bushwhacking. Or even stay on the path a bit further and find that it curves and your destination is on the other side of ‘the loop’. Well, finding the cache today was a case where the first applied. I found the suggested parking spot, and the trailhead and noted that the cache was fairly ahead, but a bit to the left. So I started walking down the path, it was a paved path park path. I walk fairly fast so when I took a look at my GPS receiver and saw that the cache hider had kindly added a “Turn into the woods HERE” waypoint I was almost 400′ too far. Sometimes it’s best to read all the hints before starting out. As I started into the woods I noticed a motion ahead, no not another cacher but a deer. I stopped and watched it wander off my path for about 30′, then it stood still and just watched me as I just walked toward my destination without making any threatening moves in its direction.

I could give some details here, but no. I’ll let other cachers that read this blog find out for themselves what and where the cache is. They’ll have to find it on their own. That’s what caching is all about. I will say it was an easy find, with many views of the South River to enjoy.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, GPS, Outdoors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

