Plenty of Proper Preparation Prevents Possible Potential of Profound Poor Performance

That title! What a mouthful!

I’ve got a short story, I wish I’d headed the advice of that title. Instead of a story and photos of a fun kayaking adventure I’ve got a story of a wasted trip. And it applies as well to other activities, read on.

The weather looked great, so I changed my other plans and decided to go kayaking. Of course I  did some planning, I found a good launch site on Google Maps and picked a creek to explore. So after checking email and a quick breakfast I grabbed my bag of ropes and straps for the rack on the car, loaded the boat and took off. So far so good.

After a stop for gas, and lunch I arrived at the launch site, a small state park on the Severn River near Annapolis. To my surprise there were two kayaks on the beach, and after a short look I spotted two paddlers eating their lunch on a picnic table on the far side of the park. They were some friends I hadn’t met yet, they belonged to the same kayaking club as I did. One of them offered to help me unload the kayak and carry it the couple hundred feet to the water. Help always makes the task a bit easier, so I accepted his offer.

So far things are going great. I headed back to the car to get the rest of my kit. No! it wasn’t there. Let me explain, I keep my PFD, Bilge Pump, Paddle Float, Spray Skirt, etc in green net bag. In short everything I need to have before I step into my kayak was still hanging in the closet back at home. In the rush I forgot to bring it. I always wear my PFD, and when I’m in open water, like crossing the Severn River I wear my Spray Skirt – I consider these two items as necessities. The result; we carried my kayak back to the car and I headed home, about 1 hour each way wasted.

Being prepared isn’t just for Boy Scouts! Other times I’ve headed out to find some Geocaches, after downloading the list of caches I wanted to look for, then forgetting to load that in to my GPS, and other times I even headed out without good batteries in the GPS. One other time I was on a brand new bicycle, road to a picnic and head a flat tire on the way back. That time I hadn’t yet moved my patch kit from the old bike to the new bike – well it was on the first ride!

I haven’t completed it yet, but am working on a checklist, With better planning and preparation I would have enjoyed the good weather that afternoon instead of driving 2 hours with only lunch to show for it.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Flying, General Stuff, Geocaching, Kayak, Sea kayaking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plenty of Proper Preparation Prevents Possible Potential of Profound Poor Performance

  1. walktx says:

    Great advice.

Leave a Reply

