Up the Creek – Weems Creek

The day was bright and sunny. What was even better was that the weather wizards didn’t forecast any Thunderstorms! A great day to paddle without any worry. Driving to Annapolis I set the GPS to my indended launch, Jones Green Park on the Severn River at the northeast end of the Naval Academy Bridge . This park has a small beech used by kayakers and other small boats.

A light breeze churned up a slight chop on the Severn River, just enough to be fun, but no waves large enough to break over the bow of my boat. I crossed the river here, it gets wider a bit further upstream. Once on the west side of the Severn I paddled up a short cove, spotting a couple Great Blue Herons, but not much else. After that a bit longer paddle up the Severn brought me to Weems Creek.

The mouth of this creek is about 1300′ wide at the mouth. it ends about 1.5 miles upstream at US-50. From there to the headwaters it is just a non-tidal creek. But to get the real feel of this waterway take Meet The Creek Tour. About half way up Weeks Creek one passes two bridges, the first one is The Weems Creek Bridge & more about the bridge. followed closely by the Rowe boulevard bridge, nothing notable about that modern span but heavy, noisy traffic.

As the creek narrows, and there are fewer docks and moorings for boats, the banks become more wilderness. I spotted a few more Great Blue Herons, many Cormorants and Canada Geese with goslings trailing behind. But with US-50 getting closer the noise level rose. too bad either the highways couldn’t be quieter or further away.

I kept my eyes peeled for a suitable spot for a geocache, and think I have found a couple. On my next paddle up here I will bring some. They will be accessable only by kayak, canoe, or maybe very small power boats.

The trip ended with a paddle back to my put-in as comfortable as on the way out. The wind had slackened a bit more so the Severn River was a bit calmer but still interesting. Yes, it seemed that I was paddling against the wind most of the time.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Chesapeake Bay, Geocaching, Kayak, sea kayak and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

