How about a drink

I sat around home all week getting bored, so when my family mentioned going to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum I jumped at the chance to get out and see new sights. The museum was having a “Small Boat Festival”, home built kayaks, canoes and small sailboats. In addition the museum has displays of boat restoration including the final stages of restoration of the – Rosie Parks, a Skipjack built in 1955. I expected a day filled with fun.

The day started a bit cool, I had my normal light coat – I wear it everywhere. But as the day wore on the temperature rose into the upper 80°F. But as the morning turned into mid day I started to become thirsty and needed a drink. But my family didn’t listen to me. Finally by mid afternoon they stopped into the gift shop, great I’d be out of the sun and maybe get something cool to drink. But no, they left me in the covered entry way saying that I had to stay out. Well it was shaded and a bit cooler than the outside, and besides there was a few people that talked to me.

Finally along came a couple that talked to me and when the woman stopped to get a drink from the water cooler I looked her way. She knew what I wanted and shared her water bottle with me and got me a few cups of cool water from the cooler.

My family says they loved me, but some times they just called me their best friend, other times they even refer to me as “Oh, He’s JUST a dog“.

Yes, we gave this beautiful, and friendly Yellow Lab about 4 or 5 cups of water, he was very thirsty. It’s not the first time we’ve seen pets neglected this way. Many people bring bottles of water when they go out but neglect the fact that dogs need water too. I ride a bicycle often, and carry two water bottles, one for me and one for dogs I meet along the way. I’ve met very few dogs that don’t lap up some water, and at times I’ve had some dogs even try to drink straight from the bottle as I’m pouring it into my cupped hand. They remember me and are glad to see me out on the trail again. We have an inexpensive Folding Collapsible Travel Food & Water Bowl to carry along on our hikes for out Nova Scotia Duck Trolling Retriever mix.

You wouldn’t treat your kids, or your spouse to a day out and deprive them of a drink, remember that you pet is part of you family too!

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Dog, drink, Rosie Parks, skipjack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How about a drink

  1. Donna says:

    Reblogged this on Mostly Lab and commented:
    An important reminder–we love our dogs, but sometimes we forget their needs are similar to ours.

Leave a Reply

