IYOF Big Tree Tour – Cromwell Sycamore

Yes, another Geocache found, and it was my 2400th find.

The United Nations General Assembly declared 2011 as International Year of Forests to celebrate the sustainable management of the world’s forests. Organizations throughout Maryland and the Chesapeake Bay watershed have taken this opportunity to encourage the celebration of forests for people. Check out Forestry for the Bay for more ways to celebrate International Year of Forests in your area.

It was a cool, overcast and windy day last week when I decided to make my 2400th find a significant one. I headed to Cromwell Valley Park, north of Towson, Md. I set IYOF Big Tree Tour – Cromwell Sycamore as my target for this find. The cache was an easy find, set not far from the base of the tree.


I’d made one mistake, I parked at the wrong entrance to the park. The walk to the cache wasn’t long, or hard. It was just over a small rise and across a field. Midway across the field I found members of the Baltimore Bird Club who were participating in the annual Hawk Count. Visit the Hawk Count website to see Count data and site profiles for over 275 North American Hawkwatch sites.
While I was with the birdwatchers they spotted a few Red-Tail Hawks, Loons, and two Bald Eagles.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Eagle, Geocaching, Hawk, Outdoors, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment