Up the Hill, beside the trail

The high temperatures around home have hovered in the mid 30s (F) for about a week, so when the high today was forecast to be in the mid 50s I headed out for a few caches. I won’t give any spoilers, like telling which caches these are, this should to whet one’s appetite and generate some interest in caching.

It’s a long way up that hill, but there are two caches up there.

I’d already hiked about half a mile to get here, but there’s only one way to get up there, yes, keep going.

About three-fourths of the way up I found the first

Yes, it’s in there. If you look closely you can barely see a lunch box size plastic box hidden in the briars. That’s what many caches in the rural areas look like, and that’s how most are hidden

A couple of views from the top of the hill

Here’s where the day’s success ended. There was another one about 0.2 miles distant, and I walked to where my GPS said the cache would be. But after about 20 minutes of searching I didn’t have any luck. Yes there are good days and poor days. There are really no bad days, on a long hike like this I do get exercise, fresh air, and if the day cooperates some sunshine.

Ok, not do disappoint you, I’ll show you another near by cache. It’s one I found a couple of years ago, on the same hill. In the previous picture, on the left, down near the power-lines.

Behind one of those trees.

(it’s in the shadow and hard to see)

Was I satisfied with today’s caching? Yes, even though I had to stop a few times on the uphill, I had a great view of the surrounding countryside. If you’re not a cacher I hope you got sense of what we do and a glimpse of our triumphs and let-downs, some days are better than others. Recently another cacher and I went on a small expedition and found 8 caches in one day. I have had days when I was looking for really easy caches, and found about 60. But that was really boring, not something I want to repeat – but there are some that look forward to hundreds in one day.

If you’ve gotten interested, check out Geocaching.com or take a look at some of the other links I have listed under Geocaching. It’s a great activity for the whole family no matter what the age. Kids through Grandpa cache. It doesn’t always involve mile long likes, sometimes caches are just feet from the closest parking spot and are wheelchair accessible. If you’re more into listening to Podcasts, listen to some that are listed in my links.

Keep on Caching

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Geocaching, GPS, Outdoors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

