Crossing the Channel

I must have dozed off because I didn’t hear the sound of the engines when I awoke. We must have docked somewhere. Then I realized that my bike ride around France had ended and I was again close to home. It was evening as I sorted thought the dozens of bicycles on the Dover-Calais ferry.

My destination for the night was the Luddington House Hotel with a comfortable bed and hot showers. Both would be a welcome change from the past week, I’d been camping every night and cooking most breakfasts over a small camp stove. Occasionally I’d find a small cafe with dinner, but for the most parts, the camp stove also provided a warm dinner, hardly satisfying.

Exiting the ferry I turned left and headed out, around the traffic circle, crossed Back Rd W, and Athol Terrace till I came to Marine Parade, paralleling the A-20. In about 100 meters I arrived at my destination. And a great night’s rest.

There must have been some sort of celebrity here, a TV-news van was parked out front. But I was too tired to care who it was. A good night’s rest in a comfortable bed was all that I cared about.

for Sunday Photo Fiction – July 10, 2016

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Photo Fictioin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crossing the Channel

  1. I see you did your homework on the names of the streets as well ^_^ Good story. I remember using those cookers. Luke warm meals that left you still hungry.

Leave a Reply

