A Long and Late Lunch

[Sunday photo fiction]

I was warned, the launch would be back in 4 hours and we’d all better be there. Nobody said what would happen if we were late. I was sure I would be back on time so I decided to take a leisurely walk around town, then have a bite of lunch. So much for good intentions. A couple small shops distracted me, and spent way longer than I expected. Then I noticed someone with a GPS and by the way he was using it I recognized him as a geocacher. I introduced myself and we got to talking and searching, my first geocache find in Dover. Then we were off to find one more, only one mind you. Before we finished we’d found five, and I needed some lunch.

3-181-11-november-13th-2016Cullin’s Yard, with a neighboring The Tir Dha Ghalas Brewery beckoned and we settled in to talk about geocaching in our respective counties, a couple of pints and an orders of Fish-n-Chips.

Of course I overstayed the allotted four hours, now I began to look for a way to get out to the cruise ship before it weighed anchor and left me behind. I prayed that luck was with me.

For Sunday Photo Fiction November 13, 2016

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Sunday Photo Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Long and Late Lunch

  1. Good story Mike. When you meet someone else with the same interests, time can certainly be your enemy. There are some really good geocaching spots in Dover. Never done it myself as I can’t get out, but I know a few people who have šŸ™‚

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    Nice take, hope he makes it back in time! šŸ™‚

  3. Steve Lakey says:

    Time flies when you’re having fun! I enjoyed this one.

  4. mandibelle16 says:

    Hehe sounds like they found someone similar interests and time just flew by. I’m sure he’ll get out to the cruise ship. Perhaps at its next port. Great write!

Leave a Reply

