Paddling down the river

One song ran through my mind over and over again as I paddled down a river I’d never been on before. “Up A Lazy River By The Old Mill Stream”. I knew my car would be waiting for me a few mile ahead. All along the river I saw a Great Blue Herons staring at the water, waiting for the exact moment to pounce on an unsuspecting fish. Flying overhead were a few Osprey, they spotted fish from high and would dive to catch one, then take it back to the next for the young. And occasionally I spotted a Bald Eagle. Waterfowl was abundant on this stretch of the uninhabited river.

3-photo-20161113155519951“Life is good!” I thought, so I balanced my paddle across the gunwales while I retrieved my lunch from the day-hatch. A slow current kept me drifting downstream past some old piers, maybe once used by a ferry, or barge. It’d seen better days, now it was only rusting ironwork.

for Flash Fiction – Nov 15, 2016
Photo by Barb CT of the blog, Gallimaufry. Thank you Barb!

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in fiction, Flash Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paddling down the river

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    Nice peaceful scene – if only life could all be days like this! Good work.

  2. Great story! I felt like I was floating down the river.

  3. yarnspinnerr says:

    You succeeded in capturing the placid pace very well.

  4. sailajaP14 says:

    Life is good. Life as you paint it, very good! Love this piece!

Leave a Reply

