Coming Home

I shook hands with Stephen Gisbon and left a very productive meeting early enough to catch a flight home with Stone Barrington. Flying out of John Wayne Airport in his Gulfstream G500 was an unexpected culmination of a grueling week-long trip to southern California,

2-12-7-lucy-solStone and I settled into comfortable seats and began to sip his favorite, Knob Creek. After the second drink I fell asleep. Flying at night has one perk for me, I sleep through the flight and don’t have much jet-lag. I didn’t wake up till the engine pitch changed. Looking out the window the first thing I recognized was Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty, We were on approach to Teterboro Airport. I’d slept through the refueling stop in Kansas City. In a few minutes I’d be home and ready for a weekend of working in my garden.

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers – for December 9, 2016 challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields . The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo promp.

Thanks for the goes to © Lucy Fridkin

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coming Home

  1. gahlearner says:

    The narrator is lucky to be able to sleep through the flight. The feeling of exhaustion after a long meeting, and the joy of coming home are tangible.

  2. Home sweet home … the best thing after an exhausting flight.
    You described it so well.
    Isadora 😎

Leave a Reply

