The Buried Treasure

When Tim, my grandson, asked for a shovel and my metal detector. “We’re gonna find some buried treasure! Probably from Black Beard the Pirate. Gold at least!”. That’s when I recalled when I was about his age there was a rumor of a treasure in the woods behind my home. Seems this legend goes around every couple generations, don’t ask me how it gets passed down.

A couple hours later I went out to see what they were all up to. It looked like an honest to goodness “archeological dig”, small hand trowels, and brushes. The neighborhood dogs were sniffing, and pawing the ground. Two of the boys even had donned white lap coats, now covered with dirt.

I was turning back to the house when the cry “Found something!” went up. Could it be that there was real treasure? As they unearthed a mysterious object wrapped in oil-cloth a hush went over the gathering. The metal detector went silent, and the dogs even stopped sniffing.
5-spf-190-01-january-15th-20171
The package was opened to reveal, not the Gold or Pewter goblet spoken of the legend, but an old jar filled with nuts and bolts. True Treasure.

wc spf-1-15
9 193 1079 spf-1-15

The idea of Sunday Photo Fiction is to create a story / poem or something using around about 200 words with the photo as a guide.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in fiction, Sunday Photo Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Buried Treasure

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    Treasure is in the eye of the beholder, I suppose; nuts and bolts can come in handy! Although it sounds like these kids would have been a lot happier if they’d found a gold skull goblet. šŸ™‚

    • Mike says:

      It was someone’s treasure. A handyman is always in the need of a bolt and nut to fix something.

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Exactly! I hope they were able to pass on their finding to a handyman who’d appreciate it, and maybe he’s found some funny-looking old chalice they’d be interested in, for trade. šŸ˜‰

  2. Sally says:

    Nice take on the prompt – I wasn’t expecting that ending.

  3. Missed you last week. I had a search through but couldn’t find one.

    I love this one. I remember doing an archaeological dig when I was a kid as well. All we found then though was dirt.

    • Mike says:

      Somehow last week just didn’t generate any inspiration here. I must have had too much else on my mind.

      • No worries. Glad to see you back this week šŸ™‚ I don’t always get the inspiration from the photos myself when I post them, and up until next week, they have all been mine lol. Sometimes our muse just decides to take the week off and go get drunk hehe

  4. James says:

    That’s what kids would find in real life, and lucky for them.

  5. Jade M. Wong says:

    How does the saying go again: one man’s junk is another man’s treasure?

    Great story šŸ™‚

  6. When I was that age I would’ve been THRILLED to find something like that! The experience of finding anything at all can be a treasure in childhood. Awesome story!

  7. Well, as they say, “One man’s trash, etc.” A home handyman would probably be delighted. Cute story and good writing, Mike. šŸ˜€ — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

