That Wonderful Aroma

3-fffaw-01-24-photo-20170123154621554Oh the aroma, mouth-watering! I could gain 5 pounds by taking deep breaths while walking through China-Town in any city. I’ve never been able to duplicate any of them at home. Just for fairness, I also like Mexican and Italian but if I had to make a choice of which was my most favorite it would be hard. But in Chinatown the aroma is everywhere!

I was hungry so I just headed to the first open door, even in the middle of the afternoon this looked good. But when I entered I found hardly any customers. Not being discourage I picked a table. As I looked around I saw that three tables were occupied and busy.

I’d guess they were all part of the staff, busy preparing the vegetables for the dinner, sorting, picking, and slicing. And talking in their native tongue, I don’t know enough to know if it was Cantonese or Mandarin. Even so it made me feel like I was in China, made the food taste just a bit better.

This is a Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less) and each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end.
Singledust provided this week’s photo prompt. Thank you Gina!

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in #FFfAW, Flash Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That Wonderful Aroma

  1. OH my gosh Mike, you made me hungry for Chinese food! LOL! Great story! Just a reminder for you to link it to the InLinkz Story Board so the others get a chance to read it.

  2. Jade M. Wong says:

    Ahh, a dedication to Chinese food ❤ Thank you for making my stomach grumble!

  3. sailajaP14 says:

    Wow! You made the place come alive! I need my noodles now! ❤

  4. You created a slice of China for us. Mike, what vivid imagery. I am already ravenous.

Leave a Reply

