The Bilge Is Almost Dry!

Boom!

…. Crack …. Boom

5-spf-01-ceayr-29-january-2017

I fumbled for a light, but nothing happened. Even the clock, digital of course, was off. By the time I fumbled for a flashlight I saw it was a little after 4 in the morning. August in the summer. Thunderstorms almost any time of the day or night. I wondered how “The Summer Maid”, my 35′ ketch, made out. Nothing I could do about it right now, so I tried to get back to sleep.

Then came two solid days of work, meetings with customers and designers from dawn to dark. The Maid, as I often called her, has ridden out storms worse than this so I waited till the weekend. She was in a small protected creek, the only thing that could have happened would be a dragged anchor, but a 200 pound anchor doesn’t drag easily.

Finally the weekend arrived and I was able to get to the creek. At first look, from the eastern shore was that the rain-fly I’d left over the cockpit had blown off. So I rowed out to the Maid. Everything else was ship-shape. And only half an inch of water in the bilge, a minute with the pump would empty that out.

Each week a photo is used, donated by one of the participants of Sunday Photo Fiction, and the idea is to write a story with the photo as a prompt in around 200 words

The photo for this week’s Sunday Photo Fiction (for January 29th 2017) comes from
C.E. Ayr, thanks.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Challenge, fiction, Flash Fiction, Sunday Photo Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bilge Is Almost Dry!

  1. Glad the Maid made it through the storm.

  2. With a bit of resilience, we can all ride out the storm. Excellent.

    Click to visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  3. ceayr says:

    Good nautical detail here.

  4. Sally says:

    Glad the boat didn’t suffer much damage.

Leave a Reply

