Among The Clouds

5-ff-clouds-above-the-trees

Somewhere in the rising warm air topped by fair-weather cumulus clouds a lone Bald Eagle is soaring. I know he’s up there, saw him recently, but when I glanced away for a short while to get my lunch I lost track.

Soon I will be soaring with him, I’m next on the launch grid at the gliderport. As soon as a two-plane is refueled I will be on my way.

Presently I’m gently climbing in the same thermal, rising warm air, as the eagle was, passing through 3,000 feet. Another sailplane is about 500 feet below, and one about 1,000 above me.

Life is good.

Each week Rochelle Wiseoff-Fields supplies a photo to get our writing juices flowing. This week her photo of clouds was the chosen one.
The photo of the sailplane on on the ground is mine.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Friday Fictioneers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Among The Clouds

  1. Archon's Den says:

    I can only imagine the thrill. Lovely tale. 🙂

  2. neilmacdon says:

    I feel your happiness, if that’s not too creepy. I did it in a very manly sort of way

  3. Dale says:

    You give us the sense of freedom you feel in flight… Lovely, Mike!

  4. gahlearner says:

    The last line sums it up. A great feeling of freedom and peace.

  5. Michael Wynn says:

    You’ve caught the exhilaration of gliding brilliantly here, comparing it to the eagle’s effortless flight gave it great resonance

  6. Rommy says:

    Maybe you’ll see the eagle again as you are soaring through the clouds.

  7. Love the gentleness of the tone. It speaks of the tranquility one feels when doing the things one loves…

Leave a Reply

