Color or Monochrome

Paula Borkovic, in her blog LOST IN TRANSLATION issues this challenge.

Regular visitors to my blog know that once a month on a Sunday I post a combined photo challenge theme for Black&White Sunday. It is called AFTER and BEFORE and it invites you to post the same image both in black and white and in colour. The topic and subject are entirely arbitrary. The only condition is that you post an image captured in colour and that you turn it monochrome in post processing. I enjoy this little exercise which permits me to see the same scene through colour and without it, and I hope that you will enjoy doing the same.

That’s quite a challenge. I had no preconceived idea of which photo to use, so I picked a day of shooting at random from my archives, and came up with these three photos I thought were worth working on. I hope you enjoy them, both in color as well as monochrome.






About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in black and white, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Color or Monochrome

  1. Paula says:

    I tend to believe that we notice so much more when looking at the same image in monochrome. I love your examples and am very grateful for your entry, Mike.

  2. Pingback: BLACK & WHITE SUNDAY: AFTER AND BEFORE Y1-07 | Lost in Translation

Leave a Reply

