A Couple Steps Back In Time

Photo by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode

I turned off the interstate and time seemed to go backward. Finding my way down the old lane I passed the old blacksmith’s shop, then to my destination, the Cooper’s house, an old mansion from the late 1800s. It was a dark walk from the only place to park to the old stone building.

Inside I found a space had been set aside for wine bottles in the old kitchen, and a table in the living room slowly filling with food as the audience chatted. It wasn’t long before I recognized Kippen Martin and Allison Shapira, tonight’s performers milling among the audience.

I found my way into the music room to claim a seat for the evening’s tribute to Joan Baez and Joni Mitchell. Tonight’s House Concert featured, Allison and Kippyn, both classically trained have turned to folk music. I’ve heard them before so I know what treat is coming.

Words = 151

One more for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers
“Guide for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. A prompt photo will be provided each Tuesday to be used as a base to your story. Please include photo prompt with your story.The story word limit is 100 – 150 words (+ – 25 words).”

To read other stories based on this week’s prompt, visit Here

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Couple Steps Back In Time

  1. Wonderful story! You have done a beautiful job describing the scene! Great ending too!

  2. Wonderfully descriptive. I felt I was there, in the second row!

    My tale is called ‘One beautiful day’

Leave a comment