Curiosity

“Daddy,” Billy asked, “Why is that piano covered?”

“Because it’s sleeping.”

“You’re silly daddy, pianos don’t sleep.”

“When you sleep you have a cover on, so that’s what piano’s do.”

“No, Why really does that piano have a cover on it?” Billy asked in exasperation.

Dad always had an answer, “To keep the dust off. Nobody wants to hear dusty music.”

Billy thought for a few minutes, then continued, “I’ve never heard dusty music. What does that sound like?” Not getting an answer from dad Billy started again, “Why? Really why is it covered?”

Now dad had to come up with a good answer, “To keep the rain off. It’s a piano raincoat.”

But as all inquisitive kids will do, Billy soon came up with the observation. “It’s indoors, there’s no rain in here.”

“Maybe it’s just hiding,” was dad’s next suggestion.

“But I know it’s there, the piano legs are sticking out! It’s not doing a good job of hiding. ”

Dad then said, “Be real quiet and listen.”

.

.

.
Finally Billy couldn’t stand it any longer, “I don’t hear anything.”

Dad whispered, “See, that’s why it is covered, so you can’t hear it.”

“You’re the silliest dad ever!” Billy said as he ran down the hall to the next room.

This week’s About Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers was really challenging. yes it was my photo, taken on the spur of the moment, just one of those things, I had no idea what I’d do with it. Then on a whim I sent it off to FFfAW. So when I saw it appear as this week’s challenge I had to rack my brain for some inspiration.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in #FFfAW, Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Curiosity

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    The sort of questions kids would ask – and really, why is it covered like that? Nice writing.

  2. Hahaha! Billy is just like all inquistive kids! They are never satisfied with the answer! LOL! Cute story, Mike!

  3. Hahaha! You had me burst out laughing. Thankfully, there was no one around me. 😀 Well done, Mike.

  4. writercookie says:

    It’s a piano raincoat. Very funny!

  5. Singledust says:

    so love the dad that gets more silly questions till the kid gives up – sounds like my boys!

  6. Nancy Sullivan says:

    Creative, wonderful dialogue.

  7. Kids won’t stop asking questions until they get a satisfactory answer. Nice little story.

  8. This sounds like an exchange I’d have with my kids…except they do a lot more eye rolling. 🙂

Leave a comment